Five-Star Artists

This exhibition is the second in a series entitled “Quintet,” featuring a selection of five promising artists who display works continuously. The exhibition will showcase roughly 70 of the recent and latest works of Naoko Tomioka, Fumie Hiratai, Etsuko Iwao, Ayako Mizumura, and Aki Yamamoto.

Last year’s exhibition showed works employing a variety of methods created with “landscape” as the theme. The works stood out for their originality and allowed visitors to “compare and contrast.” This year’s exhibition offers a different experience of “resonance” rendered by the works’ use of similar techniques and expressions.

The five artists, with their rich sensitivities, give shape to elements of daily life, including light, wind, sound, weather, atmosphere, as well as the artists’ memories and changes in perception. As these are phenomena difficult to capture visually, the landscapes are “imagined sceneries” which are intentionally abstract and “colorful.”

Stand in front of the paintings of the five artists, and tune your ears to the vibrations emanating from the canvases. You will be sure to hear a quintet performing in your soul, with the music continuing to reverberate for some time.

Exhibition Details

From January 10th (Sat.) to February 15th (Sun.), 2015
(closed Mondays,except January 12th)
Seiji Togo Memorial Sompo Japan Nipponkoa Museum of Art
1-26-1, Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 160-8338
Sompo Japan Nipponkoa Headquarters build. 42nd floor
Open Hours
10:00-18:00 (Admittance by 17:30)
Adults: 500yen (400yen)
University & High School Students: 300 yen (200yen)
Children of Junior High School or under: Free
( ) indicated discount rates for groups of 20 and more
Organizers by
Seiji Togo Memorial Sompo Japan Nipponkoa Museum of Art , The Asahi Shimbun
Supported by
Sompo Japan Nipponkoa Insurance Inc. , SHISEIDO

Pick up

Noko Tomioka
Photo © Hideto Nagatsuka Private Collection
Fumie Hiratai
《Musing on the surface of the pond》
Photo © Toshiharu Sasaki
Etsuko Iwao
《Mount Aka》
Photo © Toshiharu Sasaki
Ayako Mizumura
Aki Yamamoto
Photo © Hideto Nagatsuka